Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a beginner rider and just did my first oil change yesterday. I followed clymer manual step by step. After filled new oil, I started the engine and about 30secs later, I saw smoke coming from engine. Specifically from oil filter area. Had like a burning rubber smell or something. I decided to let it sit for day. I started again earlier today and same thing happened. I dont know what I did wrong. Hope nothing serious. Anyone know? Sorry for being a complete noob.

Thanks

·
Registered
3,585 Posts
It could just be excess oil dripping onto the header and burning off, but better safe then sorry. Check your filter and make sure it is snug on there. I have seen the o-ring come off the old filter and stick to the mounting surface which (obvioulsy) means the new one will not fit right and will leak.

Next thing would be to clean the motor off really really well (Dawn dish detergent is good for this) and see if you can find a drip.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I just spent bout 30mins examing my bike and the oil filter is nice and tight. I did notice 1 small drop coming from engine during that duration but that was it. I did notice the oil level is lil bit over the F mark so I took some out and got it between F and L. There is still smoke but no as much as before. And the smoke is actually coming from the pipe. Coming where the 2 pipes connect, I guess the head pipe. I used valvoline 4str motorycle oil. Am I safe? Is it just a case of excess oil?

Thanks

·
Registered
3,585 Posts
Does sound like too much to me, and it likely wont hurt the bike to ride it out, but if it were mine I would drain a little bit. I am paranoid, but paranoia keeps the bike running nice. It is smoking from the joint in the pipe just because that is where it collects when it drips on a cold pipe, so no worries there.