Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, so I'm a noob and I made a mistake. Sprayed some of that tire shine stuff on my m/c tire and service people at the shop gave me a stern warning. In fact, they told me to get a new set of tires cuz you can't take this stuff off, really? Should I just scrub it real hard or do I really need new set of tires? Anyone else did something like this? Would make me feel a bit better :oops:

·
Registered
369 Posts
New tires my ass!! ride the bike for a few miles slowly increasing your lean angle. Then take it out on the highway and heat the tires up really good (like 110 mph). That crap will come off in less then 10 miles man.

·
Premium Member
6,199 Posts
I'm not sure what to tell you... are you any good at ice skating? Is your insurance paid up? :lol:

I found out the hard way why you shouldn't use Armor-All on motorcycle seats and grips... went up a big hill on my dirt bike and slid right off the back :wink: Take it easy and see what happens, please report back... if we don't see you around anymore I'll just assume what happened :lol:

·
Registered
12 Posts
Since you're a noob I do not recommend heading out on the highway to do a 110mph...maybe a 110 mile ride to scrub them in, and you'll prolly be okay..

·
Registered
1,673 Posts
gonzo221 said:
New tires my ass!! ride the bike for a few miles slowly increasing your lean angle. Then take it out on the highway and heat the tires up really good (like 110 mph). That crap will come off in less then 10 miles man.
Definitely not sound advice.

This is what you have to do...

1) Do NOT ride the bike for now.
2) Go out and get yourself a gallon of isopropyl alcohol and lots of paper towels
3) Mix the alcohol 50/50 with water
4) Soak the tires in this mixture for at least an hour,
5) Scrub like mad with the paper towels.

·
Registered
6,503 Posts
DO NOT RIDE THEM