Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was changing my oil and filter everything was fine, until I put on the filter didn't I used a monkey wrench to tighten it up since that was the only thing I had.  I know I'm a newb so in tightening the second time i happen to dent the filter a little.

Now my question is will it be OK or do I need to buy a new filter.  :'(

·
Premium Member
3,557 Posts
You didn't help things - but if it's a small dent, you're probably ok. If you're not comfortable - and considering the importance of that particular part, popping for a new filter and some more oil seems cheap insurance.

To prevent this again - don't use a tool. I've NEVER used, nor have I ever seen a mechanic use, a tool to install or remove a properly installed filter. Well over 15 years of paying attention to such things. Regardless of what the service manual says - hand tight is in fact, enough.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks a lot I appreciate it, well the manual had said two twist it two times I did it 1 1/2 times with my hand, I knew I should of just left it at that, but I was dumb enough to use the wrench small dent, but as long as it is ok. I planed on changing my Oil at 1600 miles since I just did my first at 800 I know I should of done it at 600 but didn't have time till today. So I'll make sure I just don't make that mistake again.

Thanks again Ruefus

·
Registered
167 Posts
but.... then again.... this sounds a lot like the argument about break-in procedures (to follow the advice of the manual or not).

In the repair manual it says:

"Install the new oil filter. Turn it by hand until you feel that the oil filter gasket has contacted the oil filter mounting surface. Then, tighten the oil filter two turns using the special tool.
NOTE: To properly tighten the oil filter, use the special tool. Never tighten the oil filter by hand."