Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey all,

About time I put a thread up here I guess. I'm more active on a local Aus forum, so a lot of what follows is cut&pasted from there.

Discussion thread is here: DarkHorse's Downgrade Discussion Thread

Backstory:
I've been riding for 10 years or so, most of that on Triumph Daytona 675s. The last one was stolen in May 19, and the insurance paid out the finance and left me with enough in hand to buy something much cheaper... so I found a neglected, bone stock, but otherwise reasonable looking 2008 S model - I've never really liked nakeds so even half a fairing was better than none:

It had been sitting unused for a year, so obviously needed a good going over, but everything was there and everything worked. It was also nice to find one completely unmolested... so I could do all the molesting myself the way I wanted it.

So molest it I did...

First job was to drain the stale fuel, then remove and clean out the fuel pump/filter assembly to try and fix the whining. It was pretty cruddy but not as bad I thought it might be:

Drilled a relief hole for the return valve while I had it all apart:

Whine still happens occasionally, but not as often and not as loud. I also changed the oil and coolant, oil filter and air filter to K&N, plus new Iridium plugs and put the battery through a refurb program on the charger.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Paint was peeling off the front rim and fork lowers (which were leaking):

Chain was rusted to hell:

...and brakes needed serious attention/upgrading, as did suspension at both ends...

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Easy stuff first - 520 conversion with a +2 rear sprocket:

Threw a shark-fin toe guard on while I was in the neighbourhood:

Wheels both got a bit of a spruce up with rattle-can black while they were off the bike:

As did the lower triple-clamp: