Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My next mod/maintenance task will be changing out the fork oil to 20wt. Springs will come later, oil just for now.

I've read all kinds of black mojo magic methods for setting fork oil.

I plan on disassembling the forks off of the bike to invert them and drain the oil out. Why can't I just put the specified amount of oil back in instead of measuring what I take out etc.

Later,
Chrome...

·
Registered
1,520 Posts
If you have means of precisely measuring the amount of oil, go for it! Measuring the distance from the top is the cheap/easy method.

·
Registered
854 Posts
Hmm, well I'm no expert on suspensions, but setting the fork oil wasn't really too difficult.

-Take off a leg, pull the cap, spacer, and spring.
-Invert and pump fork to drain all the oil.
-Let them sit that way for a while to drain completely.
-I didn't measure what came out, nor did I carefully measure what I put back in, just making sure it was more than needed (basically 1 pint/leg).
-To set the height I marked the desired height w/masking tape on my turkey baster.
-Collapse the fork, then suck out all extra oil using the mark on the baster until level is set.
-Reassemble and ride.

That was probably more info than you wanted, but it was quick and worked well for me. As far as measuring it before adding, I'm guessing it's more accurate to set the level of each, as opposed to basing it on volume. Also, if you end up fine tuning your fork oil, it will be based on height, and not volume.

·
Registered
193 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm guessing it's more accurate to set the level of each, as opposed to basing it on volume. Also, if you end up fine tuning your fork oil, it will be based on height, and not volume.