Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a noob with my first bike. Recently a rattle started at lower mph from near the front wheel - so I decided to scrub and lube the chain. I don't know when the PO did this so it can't hurt anyway. I bought the bike just before this past winter.

Anyway while scrubbing I moved the chain and the manual says .8 to 1.2 inch movement in the chain - it looks kinda close but I posted this video to see what you guys think... does it look okay or is it loose which could be causing some of that rattle at low rpms?

I'm not sure how to embed video here, but here is the link to the quick video I took with my phone:

·
Premium Member
2,041 Posts
Yes. Not even close, it's slapping. rotate the wheel to find the tightest point of slack (every 1/4 turn of the chain is tight or loose). Measure from under the mid-point of the swingarm to the top of the chain, then raise the chain with one finger and take note of how far the travel is. I'd say you have 2 1/2" of travel there. There are also videos on you tube you can watch how to measure it for the proper slack.

·
Registered
248 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Looks like its a bit more than .5 inches too loose. I'll have to tighten. So that must be where that rattle is coming from. Danke!

Sent from my Motorcycle iPad app

·
Registered
818 Posts
You should measure the slack in at least 3 different places in the chain. If the measurements differ greatly, it may be time to get a new chain. A stretched chain will often be tight in spots and loose in others.

PS Standard new rider recommendation: Start your rider education library with David L Hough's Proficient Motorcycling.

·
Super Moderator
8,916 Posts
You should measure the slack in at least 3 different places in the chain. If the measurements differ greatly, it may be time to get a new chain...
^^^
Yes! And is an important and often neglected point.