Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im talking to a guy right now about buying a 2001 sv650. Apparently he says he left it in the garage for about 6 months with a full tank of gas and the carb and throttle are gummed up. He estimated it at a $300 fix should I consider the buy he only wants $3000. I'm a newbie and would prefer buying something that was in running shape but I'm looking to buy used and I can't be too choosy. Please give me some pointers or advice. Thanks in advance.

G

·
$3k is reasonable for a running bike in decent condition. A non-runner (for whatever reason is claimed) is worth considerably less. For example, if the carbs are gummed up, maybe the tank is rusty, maybe the ignition is kaput, maybe crank is sheared...unlikely, but unless it runs you have no way to tell.

If it's been sitting for any amount of time I would figure on a minimum of $200 to get the carbs right again, plus $50 for a new battery and possibly $300 for new tires if the old ones have degraded.

$2500 max if you fix it, or $3-3500 if he fixes it.

:)

·
Registered
1,661 Posts
$3K for a 2001 SV that don't run is a rip-off. i'd definitely go somewhere else.

·
Premium Member
6,199 Posts
ridesideways said:
$3K for a 2001 SV that don't run is a rip-off.  i'd definitely go somewhere else.
+1
If it doesn't run then you have only his word that it's "just the carbs". What if you get it running and find out that there's a real problem.

I'd pay ~$2,200 for it but I'm also cheap.
A decent set of used carbs sell on Ebay for ~$50 and are relatively easy to swap (1/2 hour for a decent mechanic).

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks, I think I'll offer him $2300 and see what he says. The bike only has 1000 miles on it I'm going to go see it this week I'll report back and let you know what I find out.

·
Registered
321 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·