Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2004 gsxr front rim that I got off of ebay. I finally got it today, but I found a kink :mad: The seller had no mention of a kink, and you couldn't see it from the picture. The kink isn't bad, the tire that came with it still holds air. My question is can i take it to my local shop and have it fixed, or would it be my best interest to buy another one?

·
Registered
787 Posts
i am no pro but i would'nt ride on a kinked rim, god forbid you find out doing 100mph that it fails, report him to ebay that he sucks and get a new one

·
Premium Member
1,209 Posts
well... I had a mishap with a manhole cover sticking up about 3 inches that put nice kink in my SV rim last year... it threw the balance off just a tad but held air and I rode it for trackday with no probs. I looked later into getting it fixed and you might find someone that take a malet and pound it back into shape but... from what I have seen... it should really be heated adn worked back into shaped slowly then measured with gauges for accuracy. I found a couple of places on net that do this and each seemed to cost about $130 plus shipping.

so my rim now sits in garage until I get extra cash to send it out to one of these places and I just bought a rim on ebay that was a little rough but pretty straight and true to use for now... then I will have 2 wheels when other is fixed.

·
Premium Member
6,199 Posts
I've worked out some pretty bad bends in aluminum car rims with a piece of wood and a rubber mallet.  If you're handly like that you may be able to do it (I would....).  Of course some will tell you that if you so much as look at it the wrong way that the aluminum will fracture, react with the Fe2O3 in the atmosphere and cause you to die in a firey burst that will also endanger the entire state you reside in  ;D