Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 156 Posts

·
Registered
801 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys and gals. I've searched several times and only find little bits and pieces here and there. I'm hoping we can create a a good thread full of accurate and helpful information from seasoned riders.

How to split lanes and how to do it properly. Surviving in LA.

I have been riding for four months now. I travel about 20 miles from Santa Monica down 10 to 110 to 101 and exit Rampart towards Silver Lake. Usually three out of five days in the week the entire thing is backed up and I split lanes all the way home. In a car it used to take me 3 sometimes 4 hours to go 20 miles. Main reason I got my bike.

Well here is my little bit of knowledge and experience on Lane Splitting.

1. I know its legal of course when done in a safe and appropriate manner.
Everyone has a different opinion about those two things but when a cop pulls you over it's his opinion that matters. I split lanes doing about 30MPH right now when traffic is stop and go at very slow speeds. I feel comfy and safer around that speed. I have to get out of the way for most other rider coming up my a**, you know who you are I've seen you!

2. 10 MPH rule. I asked an officer about lane splitting recently. He told me he personally uses the 10MPH rule. If the motorcycle splitting lanes is going over 10MPH faster than all the other traffic it's unsafe. It cuts down your reaction time drastically. Makes sense.

Now a question for everybody. Is it legal to split lanes on the highway connectors? Like the 10 to 110, there is a 3 lane connector.

Also is it legal to split lanes on the on and off ramps? I personally don't do it, does not feel safe. To many people changing lanes sometimes.

Share your knowledge, experiences and thoughts.

·
Registered
428 Posts
How to split lanes and how to do it properly.
One word: carefully