Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys,

Sadly my sv650 died, when i miss shifted and the whole gearbox said nope! (quickshifter which probably killed my gearbox slowly) the new engine is on its way. I got a question tho, why wont the sv start anymore? is it like a safety thing why it wont start or something else? im not that technical. it doesnt roll anymore( it does roll but with painful ticking noise like the chain is stuck) , it doesnt see neutral anymore, but it still primes with clutch in but gives one ticking sound when i press the starter button and than the screen reboots. anyone any ideas?

Next month or month after that im going to swap the engine with a friend who is technical.

update: checked fuse box everything still good

·
Super Moderator
8,541 Posts
... but gives one ticking sound when i press the starter button and than the screen reboots. anyone any ideas?
Check to be sure the battery terminals are clean and tight.

But most likely, as GC said, the battery is heavily discharged or has failed.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
i checked the battery, it's still fine. And the thing is my sv wouldnt start right after the gearbox broke. Thanks a lot for helping so far.

·
Registered
7,129 Posts
It is important to check the battery voltage when you try to start the bike, not just while the bike is off.

The idea is that a bad battery may have a superficial surface charge that registers 12V on a volt meter, but when there is a heavy draw, such as when attempting to start the bike, the battery capacity is not enough. If the battery goes below 10V (9.6V is bare minimum) while you try to start the bike, that is a sign it has failed.

Your cluster resetting itself is a clue that the battery voltage is dropping too much when attempting to start the bike.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #8