Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I dont own an sv650 but when I first decided that I wanted a streetbike I made the decision on a naked bike. After some research I decided the sv650 to be the right bike. I've seen some pics of black sv's and think they are head and shoulders better then the other colors. To my knowledge they only made them in 02 and are pretty rare (might be wrong). My question is this. Is the 02 sv650 a lot less advanced (for lack of a better word) then a brand new one. And has anyone treid to make there blue yellow etc. sv650 into a black one.

p.s. Sorry if I sound dumb but Im new to this (and dumb!)

·
Registered
121 Posts
We are here to help you. Yes the only black sv was made in 02. Do you mean advanced as in technology? styling? because one is for sure and the other is opinion. The 2nd generation SVs(03+) have fuel injection as opposed to carburetion. This allows for more power and better gas mileage. I would say any second generation model as a rule would be more advanced technologically. However, the 2nd gens do have a different look, which some on this site do not care for, especially the frame. I personally like it, along with the LED back tail. But I also like the 1st gen with its tubular frame. So thats up to you, what do you like the look of better? Now with color I've seen a second gen black(which is awesome) but I'm positive it was not available in the US. So if you like the 1st gens styling I would recommend looking for a used 02 SV, since you could find one in black. Good luck.

·
Registered
321 Posts
If you have the money/patience you could always buy a leftover 05...buy a tank, rear cowl, and front fender for the SV1000 (comes in black)...have it installed and sell off the orginal SV650 stuff. The black frame and black paint would be kick a$$.

·
Registered
571 Posts

·
Registered
7,347 Posts