Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,849 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've noticed that if I'm riding at slower speeds, pretty much anything less than 25mph, my bike will ride a little odd. The bike will lurch forward slightly or dive a bit, almost like I'm rocking the throttle back and forth even when keep my hand steady and driving in a straight line. I tested it in a parking lot, just letting out the clutch in first and letting the idle carry me, and it will still do it. The best I've narrowed the problem down to is that it will happen in 1st through 3rd gear under 25mph which is generally under 4k rpms for me.

The only modifications I have done to the bike is to calibrate my TPS to 1400rpm, and a M4 slip on. Not sure if that makes a difference, but I figured it would help to mention.

I'm still fairly new to bikes, and this is my first so I don't have much to compare to. It hasn't been wrecked so I ruled out damage. So is something possibly not calibrated/adjusted right, or is this just the nature of our torquey little twin and I have nothing to worry about? Or should I just scream around town at 90mph blasting knee and it'll never be an issue?

·
Registered
2,849 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It very well could be. I notice it a lot in parking lots or in traffic so I'm usually between 2-4k rpms when it's happening.

·
Registered
217 Posts
I slip the clutch around parking lots just because of this. Hard to pull a tight, slow turn on a jerky bike.

·
Registered
2,849 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Slipping the clutch is the only way I found to remedy it, but I wasn't sure if I was just band aiding another problem.

·
Registered
317 Posts
it was doing the same for me but on the highway(between 50-70mph), I used to crank the throttle to make it go away, when I remapped the power commander, it never happened again after and runs super smooth.