Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
288 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Alright here's the deal, I'm new to bikes (just bought my first SV last night) and I'm trying to pick out my gear. I was considering getting one of those airbag jackets, but after reading a lot, it seems the mesh they are made of could melt when you hit the pavement (that would suck). Anyway, I've already picked out some stuff for (tpro shirt and pants), but I need some help looking at other stuff. I figured you guys would have some suggestions.

Here's the catch... I'm BIG on protection. Best ARMOR possible. I had a friend in HS wind up in a body cast only because he was wearing armor, so I'm very serious about its ability to save lives, and the nicest stuff having the ability to really mitigate some of the force.

I am in LA (so I'm looking for something for the summer for now) so I have to be prepared for heat.

Thanks Everyone!

·
Registered
8,832 Posts
You are going to get answers as widely varied as the imagination. :)

If money is no object, then skip the Joe Rocket helmet. Look at Arai or Shoei. Most folks consider these the top of the line helmets.

For the boots, look at either Sidi or Dainese. Both get rave reviews for protection, quality & comfort.

·
Premium Member
3,311 Posts
dianese leathers from head to toe, sidi boots, shoei or arai lid.

·
Registered
2,849 Posts
Check out Shoei, Arai, or Shark for helmets. I love my Shoei RF-1000. They're in the same general price range as that Joe Rocket, but are much better quality, in my opinion at least.

For boots look at Alpinestar or Sidi. A* SMX 5's give great protection and don't look too gawdy, same for the A* Web Gortex which is what I wear. I hear a lot of people say great things about the Sidi's too.

Also for leathers, check out www.spartanleathers.com for a custom set. A few board members have them and really seem to like them. They're crash tested and inexpensive as far as leathers go.