Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've just bought an 03 Sv650 S and am looking for some advice.

I have been riding for about 5 years now at this stage but have been off of bikes since January (too broke :( ). I'm moving up from a Bros 400 (Hawk GT for the Americans). I'm won't be insured until Monday morning but took the bike for a quick spin around the front garden which is just deep stones so that was no fun.

Any tips on how I should handle moving from a smaller bike to the SV having been off of bikes for so long?

Also maybe it's just me but it seems that the bike is very unforgiving if you don't "bite" quickly enough when slowly releasing clutch e.g cuts out straight away with very little feedback from the engine before it does so. I'm presuming this is something I will just have to get used to. Dumb question but does the bike have an Auto reserve or am I just going blind as i couldn't find a reserve switch...

Thanks

·
Registered
390 Posts
So I've just bought an 03 Sv650 S and am looking for some advice.

Dumb question but does the bike have an Auto reserve or am I just going blind as i couldn't find a reserve switch...

Thanks
Congratulations on buying an SV. You have purchased a capable and forgiving machine, but got yourself into the stepchild year. Oh well. I don't regret mine either.

There is no reserve switch on the k3 SV. Instead you have a low fuel indicator light which on my k3 comes on around a gallon left.

Sent from my Droid using Motorcycle.com

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Congratulations on buying an SV. You have purchased a capable and forgiving machine, but got yourself into the stepchild year. Oh well. I don't regret mine either.

There is no reserve switch on the k3 SV. Instead you have a low fuel indicator light which on my k3 comes on around a gallon left.

Sent from my Droid using Motorcycle.com
Ha ha why is it the stepchild year?

·
Registered