Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
295 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Mileage? Seasons ridden? Off-seasons ridden? Crashes? What's the general consensus?

·
Registered
5,095 Posts
When does one become an adult? Answer that question and you'll have a better idea. :)

Josh

·
Registered
66 Posts
i would have to say that this isnt the place to ask if your still a noob.  do you feel comfortable riding all the time? can you keep your self out of most close calls?  its really only your judgement in deciding and milage and time riding doesnt make it.  Just riding at your own pace is the first step out of being a noob

·
Registered
53 Posts
I didn't cosider myself a noob anymore, when I stopped wondering if I was a noob. Just keep riding and learning.

·
Registered
498 Posts
This is one of the rare times when it doesn't matter what you think, it matters what other people think. You could have over 100k miles and be a noob in a group of adventure tourers that have that knind of milage on a couple of their bikes. You could do 10 track days a year and be a noob when the AMA rolls through town. You could be an old salt with 10k miles if you do all you own maintaince and hone your skills on every ride

No aren't a noob when the people around you stop calling you one and you become one again if someone with more experience and skill calls you one. That is just sorta how it goes.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Four stages of "ability"..or whatever you want to call it.

Unconsciencely incompetent
Consciencely incompetent
Consciencely competent
Unconsciencely competent.

Where do you fit as you ride? Do you have to think about what you are going to do, or does it just happem while you are riding?

·
site supporter
6,095 Posts
Consciencely incompetent
Consciencely competent
Unconsciously competent.
Wills, are you Donald Runsfeld in R/L? While the spelling sucks, the epistemology of your analysis is unimpeachable.