Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,904 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My cousin is in the market for his first bike, and found a Buell Blast he's interested in. From what he said, it's a 2002 purchased new in 03. It's got 2900 miles on it, and the guy is asking $2500. I know almost nothing about these things, but am going to start searching for info on the net. Just though I'd ask the pros here first.

·
Premium Member
3,557 Posts
Average retail is right at $2500. That's no 'deal' - just a fair price.

Frankly, Blasts are anything but. I'd steer him to a used 500 or even a new 250 Ninja ($3,000 NEW).

I believe even the Ninja will run and hide from that abortion of a bike.

·
Premium Member
710 Posts
i'm far from a pro but.... stay clear of that bike. i've ridden it, i've had 2 freinds that had em. i can't say enough bad things about that bike.... definetly look at the smaller (250 - 500cc) ninjas. we've had 7 in my circle of freinds and they all loved them and became better riders by starting out on them. but... i am still relatively new to all this.

·
Registered
121 Posts
Blasts

I also considered a Blast as my first bike, and the major thing that turned me away from them was size. I'm 6'3'', and sitting on that thing I felt like my knees could touch the ground. The SV is a good bike for my height. So if your friend has long legs DO NOT get a Blast. A Suzuki GS500 might be a good choice. Like a late 90s or early 2000 model. They have lots of aftermarket parts for those and it has a real world seat height.

·
Premium Member
11,333 Posts
the ONLY thng the blast has going for it is a low heat height, other than that, it's not only an underpowered slug, it's relativly heavy for the category it's in.

·
Registered
745 Posts
Hey Slave, put him on a SV! :twisted:

We can find him one and under expert guidance he'll be riding the gap with us next year. :wink:

·
Premium Member
1,904 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
WeezerKDI said: