Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 121 Posts

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a ninja 250. I put 3,500 miles on it. I plan to have it for this year as well, which will get me up to around 9K miles. I am a college student and will owe 9 thousand bucks after graduation for my freshman year alone. However, I am an accounting major, and self proclaimed "smart" (11th in hs class, deans list with flying colors) so I am not too worried about a job after graduation. Also, this job will pay bundles.

I have 4800 saved up now, and will be making another 2.5-3 grand by the end of the summer. Also, next school year I will be working 20 hours a week. Would it be dumb of me to sell my 07 ninja for 2100 (hopefully) and upgrade to a $4-5K bike in November? I have such an urge to do so but I don't need my dad to end up being right, and me selling my 2 month old bike to go back to a 250.

·
Registered
220 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
****it. i was hoping other 19-21 year old would answer to egg me on lol (no disrespect if you are in fact that young. you just seem more mature (compared to me i suppose)). I know that waiting is the right thing for me to do. I was looking for justification to be dumb. Is any bike, maybe on that is 3500 (only 1400 more) acceptable for me to jump too?

·
Registered
667 Posts
+1

I've made that mistake before, I almost made it again a couple of years ago, but my wife was the voice of reason.

·
Registered
312 Posts
Long list of pros and cons here. Socking your money into a CD and keeping the 250 longer may the better way to go, financially speaking. Basically it boils down to a purely economic decision vs. an impulse-driven decision to obtain a more powerful bike. Unfortunately, the desire for more power never ends if you let that way of thinking drive your decision-making process.

Have you checked into insurance rates on a bigger bike? For younger people, it can get expensive very fast. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
37 Posts