Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Figured I'd post a "hello" in case your Mods like to kill accounts with 0 posts :)

I started riding on a...
94 Yamaha XJ600 that came in a convenient box. Discovered:
1) I hate a rack of 4 carbs. Syncing isn't so bad really... It's the fact that theres 4 diaphrams ($$), and that generation of XJ didn't have carb rebuild kits available for them.

Never got it running great, but after having to rebuild the carbs 3 times a year I got sick of it and moved on.

then I bought a very nice, very low mileage
87 Sportster 883 with a big touring tank and drag pipes. Discovered:
1) Tuning and working with a single carb is still more of a hassle than I want in a recreational vehicle (luckily Harleys are like ace holes and you can't turn around without tripping over parts for them)
2) I like torque. <40ish bhp on an 87 883 was meh but if you launched at about 2500rpm it would still knock you onto the pillion pad if you weren't prepared for it
3) I like torque
4) How much I hate forward controls and drag pipes
5) How much I liked having decent brakes and suspension. A 500+lb bike with very bad brakes and suspension makes you pucker a bit in even light traffic.

Then I traded the sporty for an
03 CBR f4i with beer logo stickers, geared way higher than stock. Discovered:
1) Even with the higher gearng I miss the torque. I'm shocked at how much I miss the torque.
2) I miss having handlebars (Clip-ons don't mix with carpal tunnel syndrome very nicely)
3) I don't ever want to touch a carburetor again. I would even like my lawn mower to have fuel injection...