Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,063 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After hanging out here, and occasionally posting a note or two, I put a deposit today on a 2008 SV650S ABS. I wanted an N, but beggars cannot be choosers, and I happy to get what I did. The Ninja will go in trade, and with luck, I'll have the new bike before the week is out.
They offer a 72 month extended warranty for 700 odd dollars. I've never done an extended warranty before, relying on taking good care of my bikes. Any opinions on if they are worth it?
Barry

·
Registered
750 Posts
Meh,
If you are going to sell the bike before 6 years is up the warranty will certainly be an added value. It's piece of mind too. If you work on bikes it is probably not worth it though. If you are a person who takes it to the dealer for all services, work, etc, it is probably not a bad deal. Learning to work on your machine is a wonderfully fulfilling part of riding a bike. You could get most of your tools and some decent gear with your $700. Do whatever will give you the most peace of mind. Feeling good about your major purchases and not living in fear are two things I find to be priceless.

PS--CONGRATS on the new bike. The SV is a wonderful bike.

·
Registered
459 Posts
you could always take off the parts and make it an N.. they you either have the S parts to put back on, trade em out, or sell em.

·
Registered
1,063 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I've always done my own work. I'm thinking that I will not get the extended warrentee.
Barry

·
Registered
720 Posts
in my opinion, as someone who purchased it then decided against it(and only got $600/800 back), I wouldn't get the extended warranty.