Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
899 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wondering if anyone has heared of problems with taking the big rubber snorkel out of the front of the airbox on an 05? I did it and it seems to run fine, just a little more engine noise. Wonder why Suzuki restricted the air flow???

·
Registered
397 Posts
Noise

I've been running a de-snorkeled airbox for three months, not a single problem. It is just hellishly loud. It's actually louder than a lot of aftermarket exhaust pipes... Listen to my dyno run to get an idea. I'm running it with a stock exhaust.

http://www.nbriders.ca/albums/album84/SVDyno2.mov

Combined with an FI remapper (I have a Techlusion unit) it gives a slight midrange boost - but without, it does absolutely nothing other than make it sound wicked.

·
Registered
1,270 Posts
It's for emission purposes mostly. However, removing it does not leave you with the best shape for an airbox if you're looking for more air flow. Removing the top of the air box and using some type of adhesive to keep the filter in place (but still be able to remove it later) is a better solution.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Hey, I'm a total noob here-- had my '05 naked for three months now, and I decided to take out the snorkel today just to see what would happen. Well, maybe it's just me convincing myself that there's an actual change, but I would swear in court that, apart from there being any power gains to be had from the desnorkeling, the engine revs just a little bit smoother than before. Of course, I could just be seduced by the loud honking from the airbox circa 4,500 rpms! Anyways, all I know is that I couldn't wait to get back on the bike after work let me out-- well, I was anticipating getting back on more than usual tonight-- and the Bay area's quite cold and nasty on this particular evening!

·
Registered
134 Posts
TestaStretta said:
Noise