Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Fellow SV Riders,

I'm in the process of rebuilding an SV650 I bought that has sat for quite a few years. I finally got her running and am looking to replace the tires. The rubber that's currently on there are Michelin Pilot Powers (really old..).

In my sourcing of parts for the restore, I picked up a set of Galfer Braided front lines, master cylinder and front tire/wheel for very little. The tire is a Dunlop Roadsmart III in excellent condition. Now, I need to buy a new rear tire. What do you suggest?

I intend to do 95% street riding but have interest in taking an intro to racing course to further develop my riding ability (I've been riding for about 10 years). Would sport touring tires (so I pick up a matching Roadsmart III for the back) be sufficient for the occasional track day, especially for someone so new to it and not taking it to the extreme limits?

Or would you recommend I pickup a super sport rear (e.g., Michelin Pilot Power RS or something like that) for would the mismatched profiles be very detrimental on a track? Or bite the bullet and buy two super sport tires?

I'm definitely operating on a budget, but would love your opinions.

Cheers!

·
Registered
212 Posts
Hi there. It's up to you really. If you do go down the sports tourer tyre route then you have to be aware of their limitations at the track. Which is fine if your a level headed sort of person, but if you think you might be tempted to get a bit carried away by the occasion (or someone coming past you on a slower/smaller bike lol!) then give yourself that extra safety margin and get some pure sports tyres.