Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Noob here from NC, Hope Im posting this in the right place. Ive read some other similar posts but nothing quite like my problem.

Three wks ago I took my rider seat off the bike to recover it (it sits outside) bike ran like a champ when I parked it. When I discovered that the piece of vinyl I bought wasn't going to work, like a dummy I let the exposed battery and etc brave the elements. I returned to it two days ago, turned the key to the on pos. and nothing came on. So I thought dead batt, no prob. Wrong! The battery reads 11.2 volts, yet will still not turn on the system. All it need is 8.8 to come on right?

Things Ive done:
-checked the connections, looked good, cleaned anyway. Even tested the voltage going into the fuse box, same voltage.
-checked both 30amp fuses, good
-tried to jump with truck, even running (i know im not suppose to do this) Here is the wierd thing: when jumped to truck, the system WILL turn on but the starter will only make the smallest attempt to start.
-verified that the engine is not frozen

My thoughts now are starter relay... Is this guess on the right track? If so, how would I test this theory, a bypass of somesort???

Battery is newer w/in a yr. Correct me if I'm wrong but if the batt wouldnt hold a load then jumping it would have solved this prob right??

Thanks

·
Registered
13 Posts
I had the same problem several years back with a cruiser. It was the battery. I know it doesn't make sense but I could jump it off with another 12v battery but as soon as I unhooked it the engine would die. I replaced the battery & it started & ran fine. If you have a amp meter you can check the starter relay. No problems are the same. Hope it helps.

Sent from my iPhone using MO Free

·
Registered
9,123 Posts