Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm new to the SV world, but I'm diving in head first... I bought a 99 SV650 on a whim combined with a well timed search on Craigslist for a bike for someone else. An SV wasn't the goal, I was just searching for anything. I wanted a bike too, just wasn't overly serious yet. Anyway, the bike looks better in pics than real life. The guy painted it himself and it looks like @#$. Off white and rough pitted texture. Plastidiped in places. It had some home made janky side luggage rack thing and had been put down once. So I have some work to do.

I'd love your feedback here

Here she is as purchased.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
So I'm jumping all over with what area I'm working on. Mostly I'm just separating, prepping and figuring out what is going to get painted and powder coated. My pride was finding a factory seat cowl on ebay. Took me quite a while though.

I've done a couple things.

LED gauge lights. They look way better in realzies.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Toying with a cheap ebay headlight. The original is road rashed and not going to be reused. BTW, the ebay light is a 6" and the factory light brackets flipped over (swap sides so the bend goes in) work perfect for the smaller light. I'm not sold on this light, but budget options seem to be few and far between.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)
Other than paint, I think my eliminator is done. Just need to put a plate mount on, but I'm not sure I want it there yet. We'll see.

The extra bracket with the 2 nuts welded on is part of the PO's janky side luggage mount (as seen in the first pic in this thread). I'm debating cutting the whole thing off (including the factory bars it's welded to), but me being me, i like the idea of being able to do the luggage thing if a spontaneous road trip arose. TBD.

·
Registered
120 Posts