Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to the SV forum, but not new to SV's or motorcycles.

I've been roadracing on and off since 1994. Mostly lightweight bikes but some forays in the past with a mid 90's ZX-7R and a 2005 ZX6R.

In the last 12 years I have done a bunch of endurance racing with an old SVriders forum member, Tgold. Started with him on an SV650 and then he had a 300 ninja for a couple years. I turned 50 this year and my wife bought the current endurance bike from Tgold for my birthday. Now I'm a team owner (50/50 racing) and we just finished the endurance series with Lean Track days at Nelson Ledges in Ohio. My main(only?) sponsor is Moto-Z in Elma, NY. If you are in the WNY area and you haven't been to Jeff's shop you need to check it out. Great guy and he just got his race license last year so he could be on our endurance team.

The endurance bike is a stock engined 2000 SV650 with penske shock and GSXR600 front end. It also has a 6.5 gallon capacity fuel tank with a dry brake filler. We aren't the fastest bike in the class, but consistent laptimes, good strategy and fast pit stops netted us the championship this year. It came down to the very last lap and the difference was 8 seconds. This winter we will be doing the intake cam swap and adding 2mm over pistons, lightened stator and starter clutch, replace head bolts with studs, etc...

My other project has been not quite as successful so far. One of my friends commisioned Ben Probst to build him the ultimate SV engined road racer. It's a custom tube frame with adjustable steering head and adjustable swing arm pivots and a bulit SV650 engine. The front end is from a CBR1000R, with Yamaha monoblock brake calipers. The rear end is a SV swingarm with a Penske Shock, Marchesini rims and a carbon fiber fuel tank. Bike weighs 298 lbs with half tank of fuel.