Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
683 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding my bike for 5 months on new tires...front a Dunlop Sportmax and the rear Michelin Pilot. The Pilot is fine and the tread deep. The Sportmax is worn nearly bald on the front. Ordered the Pilot for the front and will get it put on Saturday. I'm not really complaining, just noting how free (which the front tire was) isn't always best...but it did get me 5 months of riding. :)

Now my next task...figure out what has gone sour with the rear ABS braking. Draining and bleeding the lines have no effect, which leads me to think the problem is in the ABS hydraulic system. Front brake fine...so I ride. ;)

·
very big dumb
8,901 Posts
what is this rear brake thing used for? The only time I've ever touched it is during msf classes because they demand some rear application.

·
Registered
203 Posts
I'm not really complaining, just noting how free (which the front tire was) isn't always best...but it did get me 5 months of riding. :)
I got six months out of the stock front tire...from 2004. Bought the bike with 4k in January, now it has 11k. Not exactly the safest thing to do, but it works.

A new Q2 should arrive tomorrow. Definitely looking forward to being able to trust the tires again, haha.

The stock front wore pretty well on the highway, which is most of what I ride, but I wore the corners off it pretty quick once I got the hang of riding on the street.

·
Registered
683 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
What is the rear abs doing that makes you think there is something wrong?
The rear brake isn't engaging at all. Pressure to the lever results in a whisper noise. Caliper redone, hoses drained and bled, all leveled up....nothing. Only other thing I can think of is the ABS hydraulic system is messed up. The brake lever went rock solid when I was down shifting while applying both brakes thanks to a pickup truck stopping dead in front of me on a blind curve.