Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a pretty noob rider only had a grom but now I've put 600 miles into a brand new Sv650 so I do the oil filter and oil change like the manual says but as I screwed in the Oil plug i broke a piece and now I'm leaking

Summary - Broke a piece of the Crank Case now so what are my options

I have warranty but I will be at fault so I wont be covered, it is strange how the exhaust pipe was in the way so I had to angle the Oil plug to get it in there but it resulted in me breaking a piece

Attachments

·
Registered
207 Posts
BIG TIME SCREWED...…………..the SV doesn't have a oil pan. You'll have to replace to crankcase to fix it right. JB Weld?

·
Premium Member
122 Posts
Yep, JB or a replacement engine from a crasher. From my understanding the case halves are machined in pairs and must be replaced as a set, but in doing so you'd be faced with the challenge of building an engine. There's likely to be some sort of 3rd world welding approach where metal could be added and the threads re-cut, but I don't know how you'd find somebody with that particular set of skills, or if it would even be feasible without disassembly, or what you would end up having when you are done. If there are enough threads left in the case, JB Weld might be worth a shot in that it's cheap, otherwise it seems to me your best approach would be to part it out on Ebay. Lots of work, but probably your best chance of recouping your investment.

Bummer dude.

·
Registered
177 Posts
Gosh, what a calamity- you must have used a huge amount of force to do that.