Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
331 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking into getting some track plastics for my bike. I pretty much have a front/upper & a tail that uses the stock seat (haven't paid for them yet). I see some track pictures on here that pretty much have nothing on the front of their bikes as if they just took off the whole front fairing/headlight assembly and left it naked. Can I just do that or should I replace it with an upper due to the wind and it not feeling choppy?? Also a stupid question, if I have an upper do I HAVE to have a lower or can the upper be mounted on it's own? I don't want to spend money on an unnecessary lower. I am not a newbie to trackdays but I do like to have fun out there and just ride in novice. I don't "race" or need all the bells & whistles of a full race bike.

·
Registered
4,036 Posts
maybe if you showed us a picture it would help. Most race fairings have to be mounted with the upper and the lower, otherwise the upper will flap around in the wind.

You don't have to have race bodywork to do track days or even race. If your track is small/tight and doesn't have a lot of long straights, I would just run the bike completely naked. Saves weight and is cheaper to crash. If you race, you will likely be allowed to use any type of sealed nonflammable container as a catch can, like a beer/pop can.

·
Registered
4,135 Posts
you can probably find a way to secure the bottom of the upper to run it by itself if you wanted to.

or you could run it naked... it's just more windy.

A good friend of mine is the CCS ULSB Nat'l Champ & he races a naked Hawk GT... won at Daytona last fall.

·
Registered
331 Posts
Discussion Starter #5