Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am trying to sell my 2000 SV 650, which has 16K on it, it runs awesome no problems ever, no knocking , ticking etc. I have had a few calls from interested buyers and when they ask me about the miles and i tell them it has 16K on it, they get all worried.. So my question is , is 16K high miles on an SV650 (1st gen) from a 2000 model.
I am fairly new to SVs so i am still learning about it from this awesome forum, but coming from a 2000 ZX6r which i owned prior to this bike, i had friends who had similar zx6r with about 80K on them and they still ran strong.
So can i safely assume that the SV would hold up just as good?
Do you think that buyers quotng 16K to be high miles is a bunch of BS so that they can lower the selling price? help me out here fellas!

·
Premium Member
11,333 Posts
16k on a 9 year old bike is a crime, it's barely been ridden

it's not even broken in yet

·
BannedCampCounselor
9,911 Posts
There are plenty of people here with 25k+ miles, a few with well over 50k+, and even RandyO had over 100k on his SV....
WE dont think 16k is high at all, its hardly broken in.... the general public, however, may see this as high. I mean, look at how many motorcycles are out there that rarely see 1k+ miles each year...

·
Premium Member
896 Posts
I just got over 15K on my 00. Quite a few folks here have over 50K on newer SVs. 16K is just getting started :)

·
Premium Member
11,333 Posts
36,000 is average milage for a bike of that model year

·
Registered
539 Posts
In states where there is a riding "season" people are used to seeing bikes with low miles. Bikes are only ridden for 6-7 months out of the year due to winter.

On the west coast people ride their bikes all year and really rack up milage. To me 16k isn't high but it's higher then anyones bike I ride with here in NY.

I picked up my first SV with 6k miles and my latest with only 343 miles...

·
Registered