Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Above is my horrible drawing of the 12 volt relay instructions.

I need some help as I am not good at reading these diagrams.

So i know this much.

I have a pos and negative from the license plate light I will need to run to the relay

I have a pos and a negative from the battery with a inline fuse which I will need to run to the relay

I will need to run a pos and neg from the relay to the device I want to power when the sv650 is on. Can someone tell me what pins goto what based on my drawing?

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Oh, and by smaller side. I mean #6 is smaller than #5. It was difficult to draw in mspaint.

·
Registered
2,849 Posts
Do you have a link to they relay you are using for additional reference? Also are you going to use a distro block?

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
Discussion Starter #6

·
Registered
2,849 Posts
Ok I believe I have this right:

1,2,5,6 are the positive lines to run to your accessory.

EDIT: 5 would be the battery positive that will power 1 and 3

EDIT: 6 would be the battery positive that will power 2 and 4

7 and 8 would be the license plate positive and negative to trip the switch

Sorry another question, is there a reason you're using a DPDT relay?

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Hey thanks!
It's what the radio shack guy gave me.

Do you know of a better one?

·
Registered
2,849 Posts
Crap sorry make a change to my last post, I was writing based off trying to remember the picture.

5 powers 1 and 3

6 powers 2 and 4

This is what I used, it makes things a lot easier:
http://www.radioshack.com/product/i...e+relay&kw=automotive+relay&parentPage=search
http://www.radioshack.com/search/index.jsp?kwCatId=&kw=barrier strip&origkw=barrier strip&sr=1
http://www.radioshack.com/search/index.jsp?kwCatId=&kw=position jumper&origkw=position jumper&sr=1