Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Evening,

I've got an '01 with the 'euro style' projector dip beam headlight.
All well and good, but it is exceedingly dim. At night I cannot see the beam at all on a street with a moderate amount of lighting, and with no street lights the beam is very yellow and does an awful job.

I've got normal halogen H1 bulbs fitted (not the super white halogens), and no relay yet, the whole thing is stock.

I've noted a few people have done a 'euro style' conversion, and wanted to know whether anyone had the same experience.

HID is not an option for me, as aftermarket kits are not road legal in this country.

Other than a relay and some expensive halogens, any advice?

Thanks in advance.

·
BannedCampCounselor
9,911 Posts
I've done the euro headlight here in the states however I had an HID kit in it so I have no experience with using the standard bulb in it.
However, I don't remember mine ever being an H1.. for some reason I thought it was an H7 or something...

If you can't do HID, I'd highly recommend a relay and a decent halogen bulb (sylvania/osram nightvisions). The relay should make a difference regardless of the bulb you choose.

·
Registered
28 Posts
If you can't do HID, I'd highly recommend a relay and a decent halogen bulb (sylvania/osram nightvisions). The relay should make a difference regardless of the bulb you choose.
I also have the projector euro lights that came like that from factory (I live in Spain) and the lights are quite bad AND aftermarket hid's are not exactly legal here. Night driving when its raining is simply dangerous :(

I am looking into a better bulb though. Excuse my ignorance but why or what id the function of adding a relay?

·
BannedCampCounselor
9,911 Posts