dang engine noise - Suzuki SV650 Forum: SV650, SV1000, Gladius Forums

Go Back   Suzuki SV650 Forum: SV650, SV1000, Gladius Forums > Workshop > SV650 Gen2 (03-15) Tech
New User? Register - Forgot Password
Register Forums FAQ Gallery Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Motorcycle EscrowInsurance Advertise

SV650 Gen2 (03-15) Tech Info, advice or questions specific to the 2003-2015 model SV650.

Old 05-26-2017, 01:22 PM   #1
notabuker

Bikes: naked suzuki sv650
Miles Kms: 14000
dang engine noise

I will never get used to all the timing chain noise this engine makes. I am resolved to the fact that it is the nature of the beast. It only has 14,000 miles on it [ 07 ]. It runs perfect and i inspected the oil and the drain plug magnet for any metal filings, clean as can be. This bike has been pampered but after warm up off idle it makes a lot of clanking sound. I am a retired auto mechanic and if this was a car engine i would say it has a problem. Why does such a wonderful engine with a very good reputation for being bullet proof make so much noise at low rpm especially under light load under 2,000 rpm warm.
notabuker is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-26-2017, 01:54 PM   #2
farmer_frank

Bikes: 2003 SV1000N, 2002 SV650, 1972 Yamaha R5, 2003 Triumph Speed Four
Miles Kms: 50,000+
Re: dang engine noise

it's not unheard of for first gens to need new cam chain tensioners. Might be worth looking into that.
farmer_frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 03:57 AM   #3
Straticus

Bikes: 1999 X naked Curvy
Miles Kms: 23,000

When I got my 1999 Curvy(16k miles,well looked after) a few months ago it too had some cam chain noise.As soon as I changed the oil using Motul 10w40 Motorcycle oil the noise lessened.Also gear shifting became easier but only when I took some oil out as I had overfilled to the top-line.