SUZUKI SV650S VS. KATANA 600 - Suzuki SV650 Forum: SV650, SV1000, Gladius Forums

Suzuki SV650 Forum: SV650, SV1000, Gladius Forums

Go Back   Suzuki SV650 Forum: SV650, SV1000, Gladius Forums > Main Category > SVRider Motorcycling Forum
New User? Register - Forgot Password
Register Forums Garage FAQ Gallery Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Motorcycle EscrowInsurance

SVRider Motorcycling Forum Our main message forum catering to the Suzuki SV and general motorcycle chatter.

Old 08-30-2007, 10:13 AM   #1
DEACON

SUZUKI SV650S VS. KATANA 600

Hello, I'm a newbie with Suzuki and I'm cuirous to know what's the difference (besides the displacement and the fairings) between the Suzuki sc650s and the Katana. I like both of them and I'm interested in knowing what would make a person choose one over the other besides personal taste.
Advertisement

Old 08-30-2007, 10:33 AM   #2
jbswear
Titanium Member

Bikes: '75 FLH chopper,
Miles Kms: -i
Re: SUZUKI SV650S VS. KATANA 600

Both are great, reliable bikes. The engines will run just about forever as long as you change the oil at least once a decade.

Yes, both are budget bikes. The suspension on both suck arse compared to other sport bikes, but can be upgraded fairly cheaply.

The SV is better for tearing up curvy roads. The Kat is better for long-distance riding.

The SV is much lighter. But its small seat isn't great for super slab.

Neither is a bad bike, but neither is a perfect, 'great' bike. Depends on what you want, really...What bikes do you have experience with so far? With that info, we might be able to compare them better.

I've been flogging my little SV for 6 years now and absolutely love it. Longest I've ridden it non-stop was 250 miles and my arse was hurting after that. I'm gonna re-upholster the seat soon, though.
Old 08-30-2007, 10:46 AM   #3
arcticcatmatt
Site Supporter

Bikes: 01 svn, 99 honda rebel
Miles Kms: 23,000 m

I was comparing the two when I was looking for a bike.