Best year? And how many miles is too many? - Suzuki SV650 Forum: SV650, SV1000, Gladius Forums

Suzuki SV650 Forum: SV650, SV1000, Gladius Forums

Go Back   Suzuki SV650 Forum: SV650, SV1000, Gladius Forums > Workshop > 99-02 SV650 tech
New User? Register - Forgot Password
Register Forums Garage FAQ Gallery Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Motorcycle EscrowInsurance

99-02 SV650 tech Info, advice or questions specific to the 99-02 model SV650.

Old 04-11-2010, 11:10 PM   #1
farquand

Bikes: Suzuki SV650
Miles Kms: ??????
Best year? And how many miles is too many?

I am a newb to motorcycles and I'm being steered toward a SV650 by others more knowledgeable than I. I have been told that the earlier SV's are better handling than the newer ones, is this true and how many miles would be considered too many? Thank you for any input, oh great and powerful forum.
farquand is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-11-2010, 11:15 PM   #2
LithiumSky
Site Supporter

Bikes: La Negra Tomasa 2006 SV650S
Miles Kms: Doce mil y punta
Re: Best year? And how many miles is too many?

Think more of carburated vs fuel injection. If you like messing with carbs get a 1st gen if you more practical get a 2nd gen.

Trolling the world...one forum at a time.
LithiumSky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 11:38 PM   #3
SV Mania

Bikes: '08 SV650S(F)
Miles Kms: 9,XXX +

Best year could include aesthetics but the sake of your question it's better left out. I really haven't seen any actual information that would prove the steering on a generation 1 vs generation 2 that would seperate them in their ability to "turn." Minus riding position that might make turning easier for some, turning ability depends solely on the rider.