Suzuki SV650 Riders Forum banner

Best year? And how many miles is too many?

40K views 28 replies 15 participants last post by  twilkinson3 
#1 ·
I am a newb to motorcycles and I'm being steered toward a SV650 by others more knowledgeable than I. I have been told that the earlier SV's are better handling than the newer ones, is this true and how many miles would be considered too many? Thank you for any input, oh great and powerful forum.

#3 · (Edited)
Best year could include aesthetics but the sake of your question it's better left out. I really haven't seen any actual information that would prove the steering on a generation 1 vs generation 2 that would seperate them in their ability to "turn." Minus riding position that might make turning easier for some, turning ability depends solely on the rider.

I would recommend 2004+ because it has fuel injection over carbs (gen 1's), availabilty of parts and aftermarket components. I would choose 04+ over the 03 because the 03 requires unique parts like exhausts. For clarification 99-2002 are considered gen 1's and 03+ are gen 2's. In the end, if you can find a good deal on a well maintained bike that you find appealing then that is the best bike. It's your first bike so expect to have some mishaps that are inevitable.

Without meticulous service records I would steer clear of bikes over 20k miles.

#4 ·
The Curvy adherents like the Curvy, and the Pointy fans heart the Pointy... but beyond simple preference, here is my take on which to consider...

1gens have carbs. Not everyone likes to pull carbs to rejet or the analog/mechanical nature of them. I have tons of documentation here to make this easier... but you gotta not mind them. I consider my carbed 1gen as painless to own and operate as a 2gen... with a few exceptions...